Dear Son…

Since you went away to live abroad, I have been afflicted with a serious case of  SPLB. In case you have forgotten – that is the ‘Sweater Pehn Le Beta’ syndrome. What to do! Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would some day turn into a typical Indian ‘Ma’ – but now I find myself in a rather NirupaRoyesque frame of mind. I worry about what you eat, whether you eat at all, and – of course, whether you are wearing enough of the aforementioned pieces of apparel.

However, I need to stop worrying and start doing something. So here I am – starting this blog dedicated to doling out all kinds of motherly advice with you. To start with, I will post some easy, doable recipes here, which even the most culinarily challenged should be able to manage. Want to keep this short and sweet (and sometimes savoury) – so will stop gabbing and start with my garlic flavoured pearls of wisdom straightaway.

It is only fitting that the first of the recipes is the ubiquitous (and while you lived at home, the much scorned) dal. To turn the common Hindi saying upside down – pehle, it was ‘ghar ki murgi dal barabar’, but after a couple of years without Indian food, it is ‘ghar ki dal murg barabar’! So here goes – the first of the dal recipes:


Yellow Masoor Dal

(Serves 4)

  • 3/4 cup yellow masoor dal
  • 1 large onion, chopped fine
  • 6-7 garlic cloves, chopped fine
  • 2 green chillies, cut into 3-4 pieces each, and deseed karna matt bhoolna!!
  • 1/2 tsp kalonji (nigella),
  • 1/4 tsp haldi (turmeric)
  • 1/2 tsp or so garam masala
  • salt to taste
  • 3-4 tsp of ghee (preferably) or oil for the seasoning

Boil the dal along with the haldi and salt in the cooker. It should be soft with no hard bits. Blend a bit and keep aside. Heat the ghee/oil, add the kalonji seeds. Add the chopped onions and garlic and fry till the onions start to brown. (Do NOT go overboard and fry too much!) When onions are done, add the cooked dal and bring to boil. When almost done, add the garam masala.

Garnish with LOADS of coriander leaves, of course!


Tons of love – sweater pehn lena.

MaAAAAAAAA

